Maitreya School and Healing Centre


The Chakras are energy centres which we work with in Mental Colour Healing.

There are 7 major chakras which are located along the line of the spine from the base up to the top of the head. The diagram shows their popular names and their positions.

Each of these chakras has associated qualities, for example,

  • base - centre for physical and mental security and stability
  • sacral - centre for "self centred" emotions and expression of sensual and sexual desires
  • solar plexus - centre for expression of will and personal power
  • heart - centre for love and compassion
  • throat - provides a connection with "spirit" for self expression and projecting creativity
  • brow - centre for intuition and foresight
  • crown - provides access to a consciousness beyond our personal preoccupations and visions

The "lower body chakras" - base, sacral and solar plexus - work together to maintain the vitality and health of the whole body, governing the organs of digestion and reproduction.

The "upper body chakras" - throat, brow and crown - work with mental activities for communication in language, symbols and ideas.

The heart chakra is the bridge which connects the two.

chakras The 7 Major Chakras